Week Three Picks

09/17/2009 § Leave a comment

Last week’s 3-3 mark was just 10 points away from being a perfect 6-0.  Of course, it was also just 7 points away from being 1-5.  But, hey, that just means I’m playing a competitive schedule instead of just rolling around in cupcakes like some people.  That puts me at 5-6 overall for the season and I’m determined to get above .500 this week.

Georgia Tech returns to Thursday night against tougher competition than they faced last week–a new season of Survivor and NBC’s formidable comedy lineup.  Oh yeah, and the Miami Hurricanes will share the field with them.  Despite making me incredibly nervous, the Yellow Jackets came through for me last week and I think they can do it again against a Miami team I don’t quite trust yet.

Virginia Tech welcomes Nebraska to town for what may be the game of the weekend.  Overall, I probably like the Huskers a little better than the Hokies, but home-field advantage will help even things up.  I’ll be surprised if this one doesn’t come down to the last play.  I’m going with my gut here and calling for Nebraska to pull out a huge road win.

Notre Dame’s refusal to acknowledge the defensive side of the ball resulted in another thrilling loss last week to Michigan.  Michigan State would love to reiterate the point this week, and get the bad taste of a 2-point loss to Central Michigan out of their mouths.  The Spartans will do just that, as they gun down the Irish in another shootout.

Once upon a time, young and brassy Tennessee head coach Lane Kiffin guaranteed a win against Florida.  The game has finally arrived.  He was wrong.  The End.

Other Games: Fresno State over Boise State, North Carolina over East Carolina, Cal over Minnesota, Utah over Oregon, Cincinnati over Oregon State, BYU over Florida State, Georgia over Arkansas, Texas over Texas Tech

Share

Tagged:

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Week Three Picks at On Football.

meta

